single-spaced lists

Jun 11, 2011 at 8:00 PM

I have been trying to create more compact, single-spaced lists in conceptual content pages.  After fooling around with <markup> in an attempt to make the lists manually instead of with <list> I discovered something odd.  If I insert <markup><pre></pre></markup> the page starts using a different, smaller font (Bear in mind that I am totally new to XML and for that matter HTML; I'm a C# .Net programmer assigned to investigate tools to help doc our API, so what is obvious to you might not be to me).  It may also be changing the spacing of the lists, or it may just look that way because of the smaller font.  The result is, in fact, almost exactly what I want, which is more compressed list styles, since my lists consist of only links to the reference (using codeEntityReference).  However I would like to turn the old default font back on after the list.  I would also like to not rely on a bug or odd side effect, in general.  Ideally there would a way to change the list spacing directly which I haven't found.

This simple code shows the two list styles.  Note that simply using <markup></markup> does not change the font, the <pre></pre> seems to be the culprit.

<list class="bullet">
  <listItem><para>Item 1</para></listItem>
  <listItem><para>Item 2</para></listItem>
</list>
<markup><pre></pre></markup>
<list class="bullet">
  <listItem><para>Item 1</para></listItem>
  <listItem><para>Item 2</para></listItem>
</list>

Editor
Jun 13, 2011 at 3:19 PM

I don't know why using the <pre> element in the <markup> element changes the font size/spacing.  It could be a bug in the presentation style or transformations.  Have you applied the Sandcastle Styles patch?  It fixes a number of bugs and other issues with the transformations and MAML support.