Sandcastle Vs 2010 styles: How can I change the default language tab?

Jun 15, 2012 at 8:08 AM

Hi all,

I'm new to Sandcastle. Now I'm creating a document that for my .NET Assemblies. After Sandcastle build the Help file, VB is the default language will be selected, but I want to select C# instead.

How can I change the default language tab to C#?

I'm using the latest Sandcastle builder (2.6) with SHFB 1.9.4, vs2010 styles.

Thanks all.

Jun 15, 2012 at 7:49 PM

I think that requires a modification to the XSL transformations for the VS2010 style.  See this post for details:

Jun 16, 2012 at 5:01 AM

Hi Eric,

I've read that discussion before. But I also want to change C# to default language tab, not only reorder the language tab.

Btw, I'll check these xml file again when I back to work.

Sorry because of my terrible English.

Jun 18, 2012 at 8:46 AM

I've check all xml file in content folder but I don't find anything seem can change the default language. Hope anyone help me.

Sep 21, 2012 at 7:20 PM

Hi Eric,

I have the same problem - I can change the tab order - but this just results in "the second tab is selected" - or in other words - still VB is default an not (as intended) C#

Sep 24, 2012 at 1:28 AM

I'll ask Don to see if he knows as he developed the presentation style.  I haven't examined it too closely yet so I don't know the answer.

Oct 2, 2012 at 2:59 PM

I have looked into this a bit and found the following in branding.js - onload():

var lang = GetCookie("CodeSnippetContainerLang", "Visual Basic");

The default is "Visual Basic" - I have search everywhere to see who sets "CodeSnippetContainerLang" and cannot find it (in SHFB and Sandcastle).

So, assuming it is not being set, the default will always be VB if the VB tab exists.

Questions - Where does branding.js come from? How can we override this?

Oct 2, 2012 at 3:26 PM